Archive for August 26, 2008

A little inspiration

i was never perfect
neither was i poor
i was just average
and sometimes on the border

i often struggled
numbers, words and all
it just didn’t make sense to me
no sense at all

but i never gave up
my struggles paid off
all those years
each time i just press on

what i had
i just shared
knowledge is free
so care and share

I hope none of you gives up that easily. I struggled with secondary school math. I managed to fail additional math for half a year in Sec 3. I got some help and it suddenly made perfect sense to me. By the end of the year I was able to coach other classmates with their math. My grades improved. I was also struggling with my combined science (physics/chemistry) and pure biology. How was I suppose to remember mole concept, covalent bonds, forces, anatomy of the heart etc. Luckily I had a good tutor who taught me the concept of mind mapping so that I could always get the big picture. I also spent many nights poring over my biology text. Drawing diagrams after diagrams of the heart trying to remember the different arteries, ventricles and the blood flow. Reciting to myself the different functions of the kidney. On top of that I was also a literature and history student. I studied Macbeth, Malgudi Days, Sing to the Dawn etc. Then there were the facts to remember for world war I and II, the monarch in Thailand etc. It didn’t end after ‘O’ levels.

I continued to struggle with computing and physics and mathematics in junior college as well. My least favourite subject was physics. I never passed a single physics test in college. The only time I passed my physics for was my ‘A’ levels. I got a C. My teacher was so happy she was jumping up and down in the hall. And that was the only subject which I didn’t have tuition. My teacher never gave up on me. She always gave me priority because she was afraid I would run away. I never remembered her name but I’ll always remember her.

Moral of the story: Never give up. When in doubt, please ask. Teachers are there to help you.

August 26, 2008 at 8:12 pm Leave a comment

Extra classes

Dear 1F

Alright I realise that some of you may need help on certain topics. Be it from early in the year or recently… Can you please leave a comment on this post stating which area you need help in? At least I can compile the responses and see if I can schedule a few classes when school reopens. I’m thinking of opening a class for construction. If the number is too small to open a class, I can also hold group consultations for you. Please let me know. If you’re too shy I can also arrange for a one to one consultation.

Term 4 will be very short. End of year exams are coming really soon. So let’s work hard.

I’m not giving up on you guys so don’t give up on yourself, me or maths for that matter.

Cheers
Ms Mai

August 26, 2008 at 7:39 pm Leave a comment

Announcement: September Holidays Remedial

Date: 2nd September 2008

Venue: 1F Classroom

Time: 1000 hours

Who should attend: Students who did not do well in common test 2.

What to bring: Stationery and calculator.

What to expect: Selected questions on chapter 9, 10, 11, 14, 15.
Consent forms will be given out. Please return the consent forms by Friday 29/08/2008.

August 26, 2008 at 7:29 pm Leave a comment


August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 30,601 hits